Greetings from Nowhere

Barbara O’Connor has quickly become one of my favorite authors. After reading How to Steal a Dog, I began pulling all of her books together in a stack to read. I just finished Greetings from Nowhere and absolutely loved it.

It takes place in a rundown motel in North Carolina. One of the owners has passed away and it is up to an old woman named Aggie to keep the place running. However, with no new people coming to stay at the motel, she has trouble and needs to sell the place. As fate would have it, multiple families are being drawn to the motel for one reason or another. All of these characters lives weave together to tell a story that celebrates life and life’s challenges.

This book connected with my life because as a child, my family went to Cherokee North Carolina on a weekly basis. As I read, I could just picture the sleepy little motel, the places the characters visited, and the lifestyles that each character lived. I love books that celebrate everyday life. I love stories of everyday people who look at life as a journey and don’t worry about the challenges of money.

I thought I would never find an author that speaks to me in a similar way as Kate DiCamillo, but I’ve found one. Barbara O’Connor is a master storyteller and she has a connection with characters that are true to life. She holds nothing back.

Reviewed by Mr. Plemmons