FALL!!!

I love the Fall.  It is my favorite season by far.  My wife and I began decorating our house for Fall and Halloween in late September just so it would be ready for the entire month of October.  I love walking outside and breathing in the crisp, cool air.  I love to hear the rustle of leaves as the wind pulls at them in their descent to the ground.

When October rolls around, I carefully plan out my weekends. This is festival time and pumpkin time, and I don’t want to miss one minute.  I want to share a few Fall events that you might find of interest.  Out of my huge list of things to do in October, these are the events that are book and story related.

Art Stations’ Tour of Southern Ghosts at Stone Mountain:  I never miss this.  It takes place at the Antebellum Plantation at Stone Mountain, and storytellers dress in period clothing and tell ghost stories outside by candlelight.

Brer Rabbit and Friends at the Center for Puppetry Arts

One Spooky Night at Athens Regional Library October 27 at 7:00PM:  Trick-or-Treat for non-food prizes throughout the Library! For our young celebrators of the Autumn season. Costumes welcome! 7:00 p.m. Storytelling with mildly spooky stories for all Trick-or-Treaters in Auditorium. Sponsored by the Friends of the Athens-Clarke County Library.

An Author’s Process

The internet gives us access to so many amazing resources.  Lately, I’ve enjoyed reading Deborah Wiles’ blog.  She is working on a new novel, and she writes on her blog about the celebrations and struggles she goes through as an author.  She makes the writing process so real and vivid, and she reminds us that it’s ok to procrastinate and worry over the words that we choose to write.  It’s ok to write a whole page and then think that it’s not good.  It’s these kinds of thoughts that make us want to make our writing even better.  I encourage you to visit her website and her blog and follow along as she shares the writing process.